Real Wedding · Wedding Day Prep · Wedding Menu · Wedding Planning · wedding pros · wedding vendors

Feed Your Wedding Vendors.

Charming-Grace-Events-Wedding-Planner Annapolis-Baltimore-DC

This topic has stirred up a bit of a ruckus on social media this week and I felt the need to put in my 2 cents.  There was an article published by a national magazine on their Facebook page.  I’m not going to link it in my post for the simple fact that I refuse to give it any more traffic than it has already received.  Not to mention the fact that it is poor information that apparently was written by a fellow “wedding professional.”

If you notice my title to this blog post is not a question of whether or not you should feed your wedding vendors.  It is a statement that you do feed them.  Not only do I have it in my own contract that myself and my staff are to receive “hot meals” but I also review every vendor contract my clients sign.  In every one of those contracts it states the same thing…Photographer, Videographer, DJ, Band…all require a hot meal at your wedding.

I’ve seen people asking why or saying they won’t be feeding their vendors at their wedding.  Here is why you need to feed your wedding vendors.  These vendors were hired by you to ensure that your wedding day goes as amazing as you dreamed it would.  You should WANT to work with every single one.  You should have done your research on every single one.  And you should want to keep them able to run around all day working to make your day picture perfect.  How well would you work if you hadn’t eaten during a 12+ hour shift?

I always pack my own water and a couple of snacks to munch on throughout the day during set up.  By the time dinner roles around I can assure you every person present is ready to eat a hot meal – you, your guests AND your vendors!

My clients will always be the first to have dinner in their hands!  I tell all of my clients that I schedule myself, the photographer and the DJ to eat when they eat.  That way as soon as the clients are done eating we are too and ready to get the reception events started.  Who wants the DJ playing loud, dance music during dinner?  Who wants photos of guests shoveling food into their faces? Ew!  Vendors don’t need a pretty little place setting.  We will usually stay out of site of guests and out of the way of the catering staff.

I can promise you that none of us are taking our sweet time eating, we are ready to work for you.  We are ready to continue with what we were contract to do.  Most importantly, we are ready to get back to doing what we all LOVE to do!  No one wants a hangry wedding planner or a hangry DJ…so please, please FEED YOUR WEDDING VENDORS!

Leave a Reply

